One Day… and Counting

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

Slow down, you’re moving too fast!

on July 22, 2012

I am currently sitting in our truck on the way to Utah. Generally speaking, I LOVE to travel… But for some reason I am a bit “over it” today. I think perhaps I am a bit tired and a little overwhelmed with life which may be the cause of my…. What do I call it angst? boredom? Not sure… At any rate, the fact that July is about to give way to August brings into stark relief that summer is almost gone. What happened? Time sure has a way of slipping by at breakneck speed.
My son turned 23 today. So hard for me to believe. Again, what happened?
I never really have paid attention to how fast time seems to move but lately there just doesn’t seem to be enough of it. I know I am partially to blame as I have allowed myself to get to a point in my life where I am constantly in motion. I am moving too fast and nobody can change that except for me.

image

My husband sent me this picture last week when he was headed up to Craig to do some scouting for hunting season. He and his buddy had stopped on the side of the road to make some adjustments to some stuff they were hauling and Randy saw this. Even though it was dark, and they were most likely in a hurry to get back on the road, my wonderful husband stopped his day to notice the beauty of this single flower. This is a perfect example of what I need to do more of.
My job will always be there, bills will always be there, stress will always be there, the list goes on and on…. What won’t always be there will be those moments that pass in an instant… Often without notice at all…. Like a lone beautiful flower, standing tall in the dark, on the side of the road.
One day…. and counting.

One response to “Slow down, you’re moving too fast!

  1. Kellie says:

    Where did the summer go? At least as educators, we really get to enjoy summer in a way most working stiffs don’t.

Leave a Reply

Love That House

"He who loves an old house never loves in vain" ~Isabel La Howe Conant

Life in the Junction

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

The Twisted Hare

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

Somethin' Yummy

A home cook shares recipes, tips, books, gadgets, and food memories

