One Day… and Counting

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

A day in my life….Honey de dog…

on January 1, 2016

One thing I thought I might try this year is to document my life through pictures. I have a couple of friends who did this last year and shared their pictures on Facebook. It was fun to see how they approached taking pictures to meet daily prompts… I even tried it for a few days but lost interest, though I am not sure why. It really is pretty cool. 
There are so many pictures I could start with as I am still deeply involved in the whole “goal to live simply” thing…  And I am knee-deep in the process of remodeling my house so the attempt will be made to share that experience as well… Every day is committed to address one of those two areas of my life in some way, no matter how small and I am sure there will be lots of pictures to that end, (you should see my new bathroom!!!) but for today, I want to share a picture of our dog Honey.

image

Honey was diagnosed with cancer almost two years ago and I fear that her days with our family are dwindling. She is a sweet, gentle friend that has brought much joy to our home. She is not a “complainer” but we are starting to notice just how weary she is when we look into her eyes. I struggle with the fact that we are probably facing a really tough decision in the very near future and really, we just want to do right by this pup. Honey spends most of her time sleeping in the spare room, but every so often, she musters up the strength and energy to come check in with her favorite human, my husband. They have such a strong bond and this reality has been particularly difficult for him. A few strokes on the head and some ear rubs are enough to convey the love that she needs to give, and to feel. She sighs deeply and wanders off to go back to sleep. I will miss her….

One day and counting….until the day we will have to say goodbye.

Leave a Reply

Love That House

"He who loves an old house never loves in vain" ~Isabel La Howe Conant

Life in the Junction

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

The Twisted Hare

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

Somethin' Yummy

A home cook shares recipes, tips, books, gadgets, and food memories

