One Day… and Counting

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

The Goal to Live Simply – DIY!!!

on January 5, 2014

I have wanted a new bed frame for a very long time now. After I left my first husband, I was relegated to sleeping on the floor, then a mattress on the floor, then a trundle bed, a futon, a couch, back to the mattress on the floor, then finally a mattress set perched on four cinder blocks. I was stepping up in the world!
I remarried a few years ago and we stuck with mattress/cinder block combo until neither one of us could stand it anymore…. at last..  a brand  new bed!! Alas…still no headboard…
Fast forward a couple of years…. my husband and I were visiting my “adopted” brother this last week and got a wild hair to build a headboard and footboard. As things go with my brother, all you have to say is “Hey, can you help us build                    (fill in the blank) and you can rest assured that it will happen  .

So it began…

image

We found all the lodge poles that we needed….

image

Measured…

image

Cut… 

image

Drilled…

image

Measured some more…

image

Sanded…

image

Applied multiple coats of polyurethane..

image

Measured some more…

image

Until we got it all finished!! I LOVE it!!! This headboard and footboard, had we purchased them, would have cost us in the neighborhood of $500-$600. Since we did it ourselves (with some help from my brother) cost us roughly $65… oh, and some labor next summer helping my brother get some more wood! Still…totally worth it.

I really like this do-it-yourself stuff, especially when the project involves working with my husband. He and I are a pretty good team.

One Day and Counting…. til we come up with another project to work on!


Leave a comment

Love That House

"He who loves an old house never loves in vain" ~Isabel La Howe Conant

Life in the Junction

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

The Twisted Hare

Just a place to record the life and times of me!

Somethin' Yummy

A home cook shares recipes, tips, books, gadgets, and food memories